Team presented with a special award at GMP Bolton Police Annual Divisional Awards Evening

This evening four Team members representing the entire team membership were honoured invited guests at the Greater Manchester Police, Bolton Division, Annual Awards Ceremony.

This prestigious evening was held in the Platinum Suite, De Veres Whites Hotel, De Havilland Way, Bolton, within the Bolton Wanderers Football Club Reebok Stadium, and commenced at 18.30hrs.

This annual event is held to mark the very best of GMP Bolton Division’s personal and team achievements, and recognises some of the outstanding work accomplished over the previous twelve months not only by GMP Officers and staff, but also by Partner Agencies and members of the public who work in partnership with GMP.

Present from the team were our Life Vice President Alan James, who was one of the teams original founder members in 1968 and still continues to be a full operational member forty five years later.

Our Team Leader , now in his twenty fifth year of leading the team, Garry Rhodes MBE was present, alongside Jess Ellsmore, currently our youngest operational member at 20 years old, and who alongside our Team Secretary Gillian Gregory who also attended, represented the many women in our team.

Gillian Gregory was also present to represent our valued Support Group membership.

The opening address was provided by GMP Chief Superintendent David Hull, Divisional Commander, Bolton Division, who welcomed the Mayor and Mayoress of Bolton to the proceedings, and thanked the generous sponsors of this evening; Bolton Wanderers Football Club, Coleman Milne (Who readers will recall built our new now in service, Incident Control Vehicle earlier this year) and Carrs Pasties.

Chief Superintendent David Hull then went on to mention the exceptionally high standard of those nominated for awards this year.

With his opening address over, which included many quips and jokes, the two Masters of Ceremonies for the evening then took over; Inspector Rick Brook and Inspector Andy Sidebottom.

Together they announced each award category, and where applicable the runner up and the ‘winner’ of each category, with many tales of outstanding work, bravery, dedication and commitment being told of those nominated, all with more than a hint of good humour to lighten proceedings.

The following Awards were presented, with the runners up receiving a Framed Certificate, and the winners all receiving a beautiful engraved glass Award.

  • Police Officer of the Year;
    • Runner up PC Stuart Hall,
    • winner PC Daniel Parr.
  • Brave Officer of the Year;
    • Runners up Pc Richard Meaden and Pc Terri Hadcroft, >li>winner Sgt Jonathan Seeds.
  • PCSO of the Year (Sponsored by Carrs Pasties);
    • Runner up PCSO Derek Thomas for his work on New Bury Estate. Derek was formerly a valued member of of Support Group (Its Chairman) and a great supporter and friend to the Bolton MRT. He was present with his wife Lisa, to receive his Award Certificate.
    • The winner of this category was PCSO Stuart Gaskell for his work in Farnworth.

  • Special Constable of the Year;

    • Runner up SPC Nicola Forgham for her work within Breightmet estate,
    • winner SPC Susan Stockall.
  • Best Performing Team;
    • Runner up, those members of ‘Operation Warrior,’
    • with the winners being the Integrated Offender Management Unit.
  • Leadership Award (Sponsored by Bolton Wanderers Football Club);
    • Runner up Sgt Mark Hesketh,
    • winner Sgt Carl Hodson.
  • Receiving the Matt Dyson Trophy, honouring the memory of Matt Dyson who died in 1990, from a viral infection, was Inspector Michael (Micky) Dunn.
  • Problem Solving Award; This was presented to the K2 INP Team.
  • Customer Service Award; This was presented to the members of the Criminal Justice and Judicial Support Unit.
  • Police Staff Member of the Year; Presented to Julia Wharmby, Secretary to the Senior Leadership Team.
  • The next award was Volunteer of the Year (Sponsored by Coleman Milne) We heard Castle Hill Boxing Club in Tonge Moor, nomination read out with the announcement that they were runners up.

Next was our nomination, which was full of praise for the work of the team within the Bolton community and in assistance to GMP Bolton Division.

We were delighted and very honoured to be announced the winners in this category, and received our beautiful engraved glass award from Chief Superintendent David Hull with his personal thanks.

Jess Ellsmore, as our youngest team operational member accepted the award on behalf of the team.

  • Divisional Commander’s Commendation Certificates; These were handed to two members of the public for their highly commendable actions; Mark Neary and Richard Dooris.
  • Chief Superintendents Award; Given for dedication and Commitment; Presented to PCSO Trevor Wyatt.

The final award, a humorous award, the Dogberry Award, went to Sgt Helen (‘Woodbine’) Chadwick, we’ll not mention wrong cars and Chief Constables!!

Chief Superintendent David Hull gave a closing address, which was followed by a great hot buffet and much socialising.

Garry, Alan , Jess and Gillian would like to thank GMP PC Jane Wilcock for her part in our nomination, and GMP Bolton Division for honouring us in this memorable way.

We would would also like to thank the sponsors of our Award, Coleman Milne, and particularly Graham CLow, Emergency Services Vehicles Sales Director of Coleman Milne, who was present this evening with his wife, sat at the same table as our representatives.

All who received a nomination and award this evening deserves the fullest praise for their valued and appreciated commitment and dedication to helping and assisting with keeping the Bolton community a safer place to live in.

Our Award as GMP Bolton Division Volunteer of the Year will now take pride of place in our Ladybridge Hall Base / HQ.